Thu April 2 05:50 pm 2009 in category Stock exchange releases
Nokian Tyres plc Stock Exchange Release

Nokian Tyres plc Annual General

Meeting, decisions

On April 2, 2009, Nokian Tyres Annual General Meeting accepted the financial statements for 2008 and discharged the Board of Directors and the President and CEO from liability. A decision was made on a dividend of 0.40 euros per share. The record date will be 7 April 2009 and the payment date 21 April 2009.

Members of the Board of Directors and Auditor

The meeting decided that the Board of Directors has seven members. Kim Gran, Hille Korhonen, Hannu Penttilä, Aleksey Vlasov, Petteri Walldén and Kai Öistämö will continue as Nokian Tyres’ Board of Directors. Mr. Yasuhiko Tanokashira was elected as a new member of the Board of Directors. In the Board meeting held after the Annual General Meeting, Mr. Petteri Walldén was elected Chairman of Nokian Tyres Board of Directors.

Authorised public accountants KPMG Oy Ab continue as auditors.

Remuneration of the Members
of the Board of Directors

The Annual General Meeting decided that the monthly fee paid to the Chairman of the Board would be EUR 5,833 or EUR 70,000 per year, and the monthly fee paid to Members of the Board EUR 2,917 or EUR 35,000 per year. It was also decided that each member of the Committee will receive a meeting fee of EUR 500 per each possible attended meeting of the Committee.

In addition it was also decided that according to the existing practices, 60% of the annual fee be paid in cash and 40% in company shares to the effect that in the period from 3 April to 30 April 2009, EUR 28,000 worth of Nokian Tyres Plc shares will be purchased at the stock exchange on behalf of the Chairman of the Board and EUR 14,000 worth of shares on behalf of each Board Member. The decision means that the final fee paid to Members of the Board is tied to the company’s share performance. It was decided not to pay a separate compensation to the President and CEO for Board work.

Nokian Tyres plc

Raila Hietala-Hellman
Vice President, Communications

Further information: Mrs. Anne Leskelä, Vice President, Finance and Control & IR, tel. +358 10 401 7481.

Distribution: NASDAQ OMX, major media and